My grandfather Matteo Barbaro at Steeplechase Park, Coney Island NY

Grandpa_Steeplechase

Joseph A. DePinto
All rights reserved. Photo is copyrighted and cannot be used without permission.

I grew up in Coney Island which is a neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York. During that time, Steeplechase Park was still open and my grandfather operated the Caterpillar ride.

90_36_4_009_a

Tilgins. Couple on Caterpillar ride at Coney Island amusement park. Museum of the City of New York. 90.36.4.9

The caterpillar ride debuted at Steeplechase Park in 1925. The ride featured a canopy that enclosed cars once it reached maximum speed, making it popular with couples. It also contained a large fan that blew air from the seats. Photo and text courtesy of the Museum of the City of New York.

My friend Charles Denson is the executive director of the Coney Island History Project (which was destroyed by Superstorm Sandy) and the above photo of my grandfather and the following audio will be a part of the Steeplechase exhibit of the Coney Island History Project which will reopen on March 24th. Please stop by and visit the expanded exhibition center on West 12th Street below the Wonder Wheel at Deno’s Wonder Wheel Amusement Park.

The following is a recounting of some very fond memories of Steeplechase Park and Coney Island. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Coney Island. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My grandfather Matteo Barbaro at Steeplechase Park, Coney Island NY

  1. Thom Dickerson says:

    I like!!!!!! TD

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Skip says:

    I knew all four of these Guys when i was a teen my dad was a ticket seller @ the main gate
    in front of the big barrel.both my Brothers worked there part time too!!

Leave a Reply

